terug naar de homepagina
museum hotels on facebook museum hotels on twitter

Best Western Museumhotels Delft in three locations

Check out your price and availability

Book online

Please select the dates of your stay to check availability
from
until
Adults:
Children:
Rooms:
Discount code:
Secured bookingengine

Best price guarantee

OUR HOTELS

Welcome to BEST WESTERN MUSEUMHOTELS DELFT

Museum and Hotel?! That’s right, unique paintings by artists such as Chris Stevens, ceramics by Dora Dolz and Kathinka Roovers and water colours by Marijke Boomsma provide our hotels with added dimension and value. The name of the hotel is derived from various pieces of art in the public spaces and rooms. Art projects entitled "Hedendaags Delfts Blauw" (Contemporary Delft Blue) and the "Verbeelding van de Dierenriem" (Imagination of the Zodiac) are related to ceramics, which is extremely special in a city such as Delft with its Delft Blue.
Our latest art project is Stille Wachters, steen voor steen (Silent guard, brick by brick)The New Church is the centre piece of this artproject.


Our hotel has 66 rooms and is housed in three monumental buildings: the Museumhotel, the Residence and the Gallery. The rooms vary in size and character and are housed in twelve-century-old premises (on the canal) and patrician houses. You may sometimes be taken to the different rooms and floors by way of small, separate and unexpected passages. The three buildings have their own breakfast rooms but one common cosy pub overlooking the oldest canal in Delft.

The Residence

Both the inside and outside of the Résidence houses an exceptional permanent ceramic art collection, namely "Hedendaags Delfts Blauw" by the Spanish-Dutch national, Dora Dolz. A unique modern Delft Blue tile picture has been fitted in a wall in each of the rooms of the Résidence.

The Gallery
Twelve statues that are almost man-size height and designed by ceramics artist Katinka Roovers. These sculptures have been moulded on and inspired by the Signs of the Zodiac. The history of the Gallery building starts as far back as the 16th century and a new stately construction, built in Neo-Renaissance style, was raised on the foundations in 1908.


The Museumhotel

The Museumhotel houses our newest artproject. Stille Wachters, steen voor steen. The New Church is the centre piece of this artproject. As a silent guard who is overlooking the market for ages and who has seen everything.

OUR VISION AND MISSION

Vision
Museumhotels Delft forms a part of BEST WESTERNHotels. As such, we have the same vision as BEST WESTERNHotels. The hotel combines accommodation with art, antique and a rich history. The range of our supply (of rooms) enables us to tap into the demands and requirements of our guests.

Together with our guest-oriented team, we aim to offer our guests a unique experience that will surpass their expectations, time and again. We guarantee consistency and efficiency by finding the equilibrium between reliability, care and corporate social responsibility.

Mission
Museumhotels Delft is a genuine and distinguished 4-star hotel in the centre of Delft, where accommodation is combined with art. The art, antique in combination with the the rich history of the hotel buildings provided added value to the guests’ experience. The diversity of the types of rooms makes BEST WESTERN Museumhotels perfect for both business and leisure guests alike. Our close-knit team, the pieces of art and rich historical image ensure that they will enjoy an exceptional experience.

THE HISTORY

History of the canal buildings | Oude Delft 189, previously 187.
The Museumhotel on the corner of the Oude Delft and the Schoolstraat, currently Oude Delft 189, originally consisted of three different houses, two on the Oude Delft and, behind it, in the Schoolstraat, the address that was previously known as Schoolstraat 12. The house number in the Schoolstraat has disappeared. House numbers 187 and 191 also previously existed in the Oude Delft. However, these are also no longer to be found.

The two buildings in the Oude Delft were merged in the fur business of Maria de Hessele and her husband, Johannes van Dijk, in the 20s during the previous century. The third building was added to it in 1963 when the Delft textile traders Koreneef, van Uffelen van Van Velzen jointly opened a "Delfts Modehuis" (Delft Fashion House). The ground floor of the different buildings was thoroughly demolished, as was apparently the case for shops. The shop at this location in Delft became enormously successful. The buildings were sold off to the Municipality of Delft, which, in turn, converted them into offices.



Coffee, tea, tobacco and fashion

In 1853 the corner building became a shop trading in colonial goods and belonged to Miss De Groot. According to the façade advertisement sign on an old lithograph, she sold coffee, tea and tobacco there. The shop of Miss M.H. Veldhoven was housed here in 1884. In about 1890 the retired Colonel C.G. Cox lived there, probably above the shop. From 1890 there was a shop in "fashion", which belonged to the Kneteman sisters. In 1910 baker A. Koomen from Haarlem started up his shop and he put his oven in the high cellar room. The shop still bore the number Oude Delft 187. In the 20s of the previous century, the building and the the fur shop of Maria de Hessele next to it, merged and the bottom and top house at that time still bore numbers 189 and 191.

In 1956 these buildings and the building in the Schoolstraat behind it were bought by the earthenware factory "De Porceleyne Fles" (The Porcelain Bottle). The plan was to establish an earthenware shop in the complex, between the tourist attractions of the Museum Het Prinsenhof and Museum Huis Lambert van Meerten. The plan was never realised, however. As has already been said, the buildings were converted into a "Delft Modehuis" (Delft Fashion House) in 1963. After a next episode as municipal offices, annex to Gallery De Volle Maan (The Full Moon), the complex was bought by E.J.G. Schermerhorn in 1983, who made the Museumhotel of it. Now you can stay there as a hotel guest and spend the night in one of the rooms of one of your many historical predecessors.

Oude Delft 189 (previously 191).
It is presumed that the original Oude Delft 189-191 (building on the right) is not quite as old as the building on the corner of the Schoolstraat. It did not yet appear in the registers of the "Tiende Penning" (type of tax that was levied) of 1543 and 1561. However, in 1600, the tailor Bernard Gerritszoon, let two of the rooms above, "d’ eene aen joffrouwe Vesyns, weduwe van Jan Pee, ende d’ andere aen Capiteyn Missie" ("one to Miss Vesyns, widow of Jan Pee and the other to Captain Missi"), or so the immovable property tax register of that tells us. During the first half of the 18th century the building was inhabited for a long time by brother and sister Jean and Maria Bouchon, who had retired there and lived off their interest. In 1750 there had a "meijd bij de dag" (day housekeeper), i.e. no live-in housekeeper. After that the building presumably changed hands of many different tenants for a long time. In 1840 Gerrit Sprenger’s shoemaker business was housed there and Mrs Van Trigt’s fashion factory of Mrs Van Trigt was housed there in 1857. The building was sold to contractor/plasterer, Anton Knetemann, in 1860. He also became owner of a part of the back premises of the neighbours two years later, after which saw his opportunity of adding a residential tower of two floors at the back which took away any view that the neighbours might have had. In those days there was still no Housing Act that could prevent such revolutionary construction. We assume that Knetemann operated this residential warehouse as a building to let. In 1906 the building was entered on the property sales market as a rented shoe business. The buyer became the milliner Theodora van der Heijdt, who subsequently had the building renovated. The above-mentioned fur business of Maria de Hessele was established here in the 1920s (see Old Deflft 189, previously 187), who, in her turn, had the shop renovated twice: in 1929 and 1936. The last time it concerned a new shop front in particular.
Source: Nico Roorda van Eysinga

best western hotel delft

Location best western hotel delft

CULINARY DELFT PACKAGE available from 85 euro p/p

For more info click here